Hwaeomsa Temple, built in the unified Silla Era, spread the Hwaeom Order of Buddhism.
It had been known as a place where the monks had stayed for disseminate Hwaeom doctrines since it was built.
The monk, Doseon, expanded it in the late Silla Era.
In the reign of King Munjong of Goryeo, it was permitted that one could offer the grain in Jeolla-do and Gyeongsang-do once in a year, so that the large store was built outside of the Iljumun Gate.
It was burnt down during the Japanese Invasion of 1592, and repaired some buildings 7 years later.
Through many times of reconstruction, it kept the present structures.
This pagoda, a unique stone pagoda of the unified Silla Era, which stood in front of Wontongjeon Hall, showed a look that four lion statues put long and square stone on the head.
Although this pagoda, usually called Noju in temple, was not clearly known the usage, it was known to be used for either preserving the bone of Buddha or holding a memorial services.Two-story platform whose bottom base was made of stone without any patterns looked simple.
On the upper platform, the best special part, four lion statues were laid.
Each lion statue, seated on the base looked like putting the lotus with the bottom up, placed the stone engraved the lotus design on its head.On the body of pagoda, there is rectangular shaped main stone.
It puts a bolder on each side of main stone, while a guardian deity is engraved in it.
Above the main stone, there is a plane stone, engraved with the blown-lotus design.
A hemisphere shaped stone is surging on the upper side.
Although this pagoda imitated the Three-story Stone Pagoda with Four-lion Pedestal of Hwaeomsa Temple (Treasure No.35), it assumed to be built the ninth century, in which far later than it, judged from its inferior carving skills